The flag of Ottawa is defined by 3 elements: the colors blue, green and a stylized 'O' in white. The current version of the flag was adopted in 2001 when 12 municipalities combined to form what is now the Ottawa 'megacity'. The blue represents Ottawa's rivers and waterways and the green represents the abundance of natural and beautiful green spaces in and around the city. The 'O' has been given a modern feel with 3 "streamers". If one looks closely, these "streamers" can depict both a maple leaf as well as the Canadian Parliamentary buildings.